When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: You are Very Impossible!

“How dare you?!” fury was all over Mom’s face. Aunt Tricia was too stunned to speak. And Kinyo, she must have been thinking of the worst possible thing to do to me.

I rubbed my cheek repeatedly. Mom gave me a stinging slap. She was red. So much more for protecting her sister from her large mouthed daughter. I apologised to Aunt Tricia.

“I’m sorry ma. But you all got it the wrong way,” I was still rubbing my cheek. Chai, Mom’s slap is not a good treat at all.

“Whatever you meant to say. Madam Know-It-All, you should have kept your opinion to yourself,” I could not ignore the spite in Kinyo’s voice.

“What…” I quickly bit my tongue. My cheek reminded me of another potential slap from Mom.

“I pray this your bebelube will not put you in trouble,” Mom said. [bebelube, pronounced beh-beh-lu-beh and it     means being too forward].

I looked at Mom. At least, some of the anger had calmed. But I wasn’t wrong! Hatred, anger and an unforgiving spirit makes even the righteous guilty.

“Mom, Aunt Tricia, Kinyo, I’m sorry,” I apologised for peace sake. “But why did you say I should not go to Obojumu?”

“Did you just ask that?” Mom seemed surprise.

“Dumb question,” Kinyo commented. I shrugged. I was lost.

“Where you listening to me at all?” Aunt Tricia asked, also surprised.

“Of course, I was listening,” I replied.

“Don’t worry. Let me answer her,” Kinyo looked at me with mischief and a wicked smile.

I braced myself for the worst of Kinyo’s sarcasm.

“Sike darl, how would you like to see your soft meat eaten? Would you like to be skewered and arranged on a kebab stick or grilled? Or maybe you would love to see Obojumu run around munching your barbecued meat with their bareless bottom,” Mom and Aunt Tricia laughed hard inspite of themselves. Kinyo joined in.

“Oh yes! I’d love that!” they stopped laughing and looked at me strangely as if I just announced that I had Ebola. “You know why? I’d be seated with Christ in heaven, rejoicing. Because I was persecuted and killed for righteousness sake,” Aunt Tricia gasped.

“You’re very impossible!” Kinyo spat.

“Idiot!” Mom had never said that before.

Let’s Talk:

Do you think Sikemi rightly handled the trio’s sarcasm?

Kindly share your views. Thanks for dropping by.

2 thoughts on “When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: You are Very Impossible!

Leave a comment