When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: Are You Sure You’re Not Treading That Path too?

“Why not?” Aunt Tricia replied. I felt like we were acting a movie. She sniffed again. After so many years, I thought my aunt had healed for real. But apparently, I had re-opened a sore that had been taking so much time to heal.

“I caused it!” she burst into fresh tears.

“Stop saying that. I have told you,” Mom there playing the big sister role. She, on Aunt Tricia’s left, Kinyo on the right.

“He didn’t want to go. He wanted to be home with me. He wanted to stay close to me,” Aunt Tricia sobbed. “I was too young and naive. Driven by financial wind, I chose wealth over love. Here I am counting my losses with great regret,” she sobbed again.

I just stared as Kinyo and Mom kept patting reassuringly. I was tempted to ask what really happened. But, I already felt heartless, judging from Mom and Kinyo’s face expressions.

“My husband was enjoying his position as an assistant director in the federal civil service,” I remembered my aunt’s husband vaguely. He was fair skinned, had a full grown moustache and beard, 6 ft. tall, skinny and always with a smile.

“He was then, promoted to the office of a director and that, with a transfer. Kolawole did not want to go. He had heard so much about Obojumu,” she started crying again. I tried to imagine how deeply hurt she was. Kinyo had become teary too. “I forced him. He tried to explain the terrible stories he had heard about the village. How barbaric they are! How they celebrated their cannibalistic nature. I closed my ears to him.”

I could sense regrets giving way to anger and hatred in Aunt Tricia’s voice. I just sat there, waiting to hear the rest of the story.

“I tempted my God. I thought He will take care of Kola. Apparently, he did not. He gave him over as meal to those proud illiterate people who will all rot in hell!” she spat.

“Are you sure you’re not treading that path too?” a slap from Mom made me realise that I should have just shut my mouth up.

Let’s Talk:

Did Sikemi say too much?

Kindly share your views. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

2 thoughts on “When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: Are You Sure You’re Not Treading That Path too?

Leave a comment