I Will Be Out of this Sad Tunnel

This tunnel is too silent
I look around
And find only darkness
I can hear voices
I know I’m not alone in the tunnel
But I’m afraid to meet others in the tunnel.

I keep moving,
Hoping for the light
At the end of the tunnel
The flicker of light in my hand
Keeps me moving, hoping
I will get out of the tunnel

I hear voices
Some of delight
Some of anguish
But the tunnel is too dark
This flicker of light
Keeps me moving in the tunnel

I will enjoy this journey
No matter how dark it gets
The flicker will keep me moving
No matter how long it gets
I am sure
I will come out of the tunnel

I see carvings on the wall
I see footprints in the sand
This flicker of light
Makes me know
Some have trod this place
And are out of the tunnel

The carvings tell tales
Tales of laughter, of sadness
I try to fit in the printS
Some are large, others too small
My feet doesn’t fit in
So much tales in the tunnel

My feet also join the tales
For others to see
I search for clues
If only the carvings will show somewhere
If only the prints will lead somewhere
Somewhere, the end of the tunnel

I will keep my flicker of light
For it gives me the exact sight
The hope that I will be out
Someday, I will be out
This flicker makes me know
Very near, is the end of the tunnel

But now, I will wait on Him
I will enjoy the tales told
By the carvings and footprints
I will add mine too
For others to see
Others who get into the tunnel

In the end I know
I will see the Greater Light
It will overwhelm me
I will laugh hard at my plight
Because I will be out
I will be out of this sad tunnel

Leave a comment