When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: You are dead!

My eyes searched the room. It was pitch black. I tried to move my hands and feet. I was numb. What could this mean?

I heard whisphered voices and faint steps at the door. I could barely make anything out of the conversation. I could not tell how many people were outside my door.

It’s not possible that my parents want to send me far away because of the mission trip. I hoped.

I tried to move again but I was so numb. I felt like my whole body except my head had vanished. I could not see. I could not tell if I was bound by a rope. But if I were bound, I’d feel pains.

The only thing I could feel was the sweat trickling down my spine and the one on my face. Yes, I could feel the dread in my soul. What could it really mean?

I heard giggles from the people outside my door. Then, silence. My throat was parched and I could still not move.

The window slightly above my head opened slowly. Then, BANG! It shut with so much speed that my heart skipped. I heard a little child giggle.

The window opened again. More slowly this time and BANG! Again! I tried to scream. I couldn’t. I tried to move. Nothing! Only my eyes, heart and sweat pores worked. The feet at the door retreated one by one. I tried to scream, I couldn’t.

‘You are dead, don’t you know?’  I heard a bold deep voice, loud and clear. But I could see no one. A hot liquid passed through my thighs quickly. I tried to raise feet. Numbness. I tried to scream again. Impossible.

Then, I saw rays of light reflecting under my door. Hope came alive.

‘No! I’m not dead’. I said in my mind.

The voice mocked me with great laughter. ‘You are dead!’ He repeated.

‘No!’ I screamed in my mind. Then, the door opened.

I saw a familiar face. Behind him was my cousin. He wore a white apparel with a lamp in his left hand. The lamp’s light was very faint.

My cousin giggled. It was similar to that of the little child that giggled.

Something flashed. I looked at the man again. In his left hand was a sword. Or was it a knife or matchet? I was not sure. The man smiled, revealing decaying teeth. Then he laughed. His laughter was similar to that of the deep voice. He moved closer to me and raised his sword, poised to strike.

“Jesus!” a greater light flooded the room.

Let’s Talk:

What do you think about Sikemi’s nightmare?

Kindly share your views. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a comment