When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: Obojumu?!

“Obojumu?!” Mom and Aunt Tricia chorused their shock.

“Errm…is there something I need to know?” I was confused. Aunt Tricia burst into tears. Mom started patting her with her full gaze on me.

“What’s up? Why is Aunt Tricia crying?” Kinyo walked in with a piece of cake. She had some in her mouth.

“Aburo e ni. O fe lo si Obojumu.” Mom replied. Translated, it means: ‘ it’s your younger sister. She wants to go to Obojumu.’

“Are you nuts?!” Kinyo shouted at me.

“What have I said or done wrong? I’m not nuts!” I retorted.

“Mtttccchhheewww,” Kinyo hissed, dropped her cake and fetched some paper towel for Aunt Tricia. Aunt Tricia blew her nose and sniffed.

“I’m sorry,” Aunt Tricia apologised.

“For what?” I was more irritated than confused by the trio’s drama. I folded my arms.

“For our outburst,” she replied. Kinyo seized me up with her eyes before plopping down beside Aunt Tricia on the sofa. Aunt Tricia blew her nose again. “Sike, I lost my husband to the Obojumu people,” she dropped it like a bombshell.

I never really knew what happened to my Aunt’s husband save he died in service to his nation. I grew up seeing Aunt Tricia as a resident member of my family. Mom shook her head and bit her lower lip.

“Do you mind sharing with me?” I asked before I thought.

Let’s Talk:

What do you think of Kinyo’s behaviour?

Kindly share your views. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a comment