When Love Isn’t Just a Feeling: Fever?

I sat up. My under was wet. My parents looked at me with so much pity. Dad sat by me while Mom stood with her hands on her hips. Dad touched my face and my neck. I was sweating profusely.

“Mine, are you sure we should not take her to the church?” Mom asked Dad. Dad did not shift his gaze from me. Pity was all over his face.

“What will happen if we take her there?” Dad asked, still looking at me.

“Deliverance! This is the seventh nightmare she’s having in four days,” Mom cried.

“It’s a nightmare! It happens to anyone,” Dad replied.

“Eh! Eh!!! Mine!” Mom shook her head. “I can’t lose my child o!”

“No one is losing anyone,” Dad rebuked.

“This is not ordinary o!” Mom continued “I have barely slept in four days. See my eyes,” she pulled at her eyelids to emphasize her point.

“She’ll be fine,” Dad said.

“I hear you. This is the fourth night. When I thought I’d finally get some sleep, she screamed again. Eh! Mine, mo n so,” that means ‘I’m warning’.

“Sike, get up! You need to change your sheets,” Dad said to me.

“For a grown child to bed-wet, is it ordinary?” Mom whined. “Something she has never done.”

I was dumbfounded. The impact of the dream was still on me. I agreed with Mom. The nightmares were too frequent.

“Maybe she’s coming up with a fever,” objective Dad opined.

“Fever? Adesoji!” Mom cried out. I looked at the wall clock. It was just a few minutes past three o’clock a.m. Dad sighed. I moved out of my bed. Dad stood up as I tried to remove the sheets. Mom assisted. We changed the sheets and I went to the bathroom to change my nightwear.

When I came out, Dad looked at me. Pity was still written all over his face. Mom’s face was worse. It looked like she’d burst into tears any moment soon.

“Cherié, let’s pray for her,” Dad said. Mom obliged immediately. After the prayers, Mom said:

“I have a feeling that this has to do with that mission trip,” Dad agreed. I sighed.

Let’s Talk:

Can fever be so bad to cause a nightmare?

Kindly share your views. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a comment